Wollongong’s top winners

Wollongong’s Australia Day award winners have been revealed as adiverse group of citizens who are helping putthe region’s business, science, sport and culture prowesson the map.

CITIZEN OF THE YEAR: IRT chief executive Nieves Murray took out the major category in Wollongong’s Australia Day awards. Picture: Greg Ellis.

Among them are a pair of world champion BMX riding siblings, a musicfestival founder responsible for bringing a host of international acts to the city and a trailblazer who helped inspire generations of budding Illawarra scientists at the Science Centre.

Wollongong council’s citizenship and achievement awards for 2016 were announced by Lord Mayor Gordon Bradbery at a ceremonyon Thursday night, withIRT chief executiveNieves Murray named as the citizen of year.

TRAILBLAZER: Glen Moore was recognised for his role in establishing the Wollongong Science Centre and Planetarium. Picture: Kirk Gilmour.

The council saidMs Murray was selected for the contributions she has made through her work at IRT as well as herwork with charities like St Vinnies andher role as an active member ofthe business community.

Woonona life saver Madeline Bow was awarded theyoung citizen of the year award whileformer TAFEdirector Raymond Tolhurst was named senior citizen of the year.

BMX riding siblingsSaya and KaiSakakibarawere jointly awarded the sports achievement award, recognised forrepresentingAustralia and NSW at an elite sportslevel.

Courtney Buchanan,15, who is one of the top young fencers in Australia, was given the highly commended award.

Scientist Glen Moore, who was instrumental in theinitiation andestablishment of the Illawarra Science Centre and Planetarium was given theoutstanding achievement or innovation award.

Ben Tillman, a director of Yours and Owls and Farmer and the Owl, was recognised for his contributions toarts and culture in Wollongong.

“These are people who have grand and impressive visions for our city and even beyond,” CrBradbery said.

“They add depth and value tothe areas they are engaged in and to those people they are working with or competing against.’’ Winners were announced on January 21.



Citizen of the Year: Nieves MurrayYoung Citizen of the Year:Madeline BowSenior Citizen of the Year: Raymond TolhurstSportsAchievement:Kai and Saya SakakibaraHighly Commended Sports Achievement:CourtneyBuchananCommunity Group Award joint winners:Bellambi Neighbourhood Centre andCorrimal’s Chamber of Commerce.Arts and Cultural Achievement Award: Ben TillmanOutstanding Achievement or Innovation Award: Glen MooreThis story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 老域名.

This entry was posted in 老域名. Bookmark the permalink.